History
Our know-how
Behavioral Biology
The founders
Our offices
  • Behavioral Biology grew out of research by surgeon and neurobiologist Henri Laborit (1914-1995). This area of social science discloses why we think the way we do, make this decision or that one, act this way or that. This is precious information when it comes to deciding which responsibilities to assign to whom, putting together a team, determining which areas need to be re-organized and how to get the most out of individuals or groups.

    Henri Laborit published several books about his scientific experiments:

    • The New Grid, 1974
    • In Praise of Fleeing, 1976
    • Action Inhibition, 1979
    • Behavior Myths,  1994


    Henri Laborit’s work is highly specialized and reserved for an audience with expertise in behavior biology.

    Jean Timar is a researcher in human sciences who follows in the footsteps of Henri Laborit. He built on Laborit’s work and, using his own experiments as well, put together a behavioral map of the mind. The diagram of his map reveals several thousand variations on impulses that heavily influence our actions and decisions.

    Combining his own findings with the work of other researchers such as André Leblanc on the cerebral nerve pairs, Jean Timar studied the central nervous system and different layers of the cortex.

    This was the beginning of finding practical applications of the new science in industry.

     

    From Behavioral Biology to corporate consultancy 

    Jean Timar quickly recognized the importance of these new findings to business leaders. He and Reine Néguin, another researcher in human sciences, created a management consultancy for executives and human resource departments.

    For nearly 40 years, they worked with large national and international groups (Armor, Bis, Bouygues, Caisse d’Epargne, Gedimat, General Motors, France, Jacques Vabre, Kraft General Foods, Minister Mint, Parker, Siemens, Waterman…) advising executives on management issues, especially how to get the most out of people’s talent and allow them to work to full potential.

    Experiments performed in companies with different socio-professional groups offered a good test of the accuracy of their grid in identifying talent — an essential ingredient for specialized companies if they are to react instantly to changes in world markets.

    Technology is a complex and rapidly changing field. This makes it difficult to train specialists in advance to dealing with situations that could arise. This makes it all the more important for companies to be able to identify the people who are capable of adapting quickly to any situation.

    Jean Timar and Reine Néguin follow market trends closely. They continually build on their knowledge of this field, taking the trends into account in their thinking about biological behavior and drawing as well on the work of other researchers. They are authors of several publications:

    In the form of essays:

    • Man and His Environment, 1972
    • The Other Behavior, 1982


    A methodology for public speaking:

    • Get up and Speak, 1985


    A more “technical” explanation of behavioral biology in:

    • A Time for Reality, a Data Bank of Behavioral Biology, 1988


    The publication of this book opened the way for companies to benefit in other ways besides consultancy from new contributions to behavioral biology. A service package was developed to give companies more autonomy and the means to design tailored approaches to match their exact needs in human resource management.

    Jean Timar and Reine Néguin were often invited to speak in conferences involving representatives of Chambers of Commerce and industrial leaders who reacted enthusiastically to the idea of having a simple, precise and effective tool to develop talent within companies.

     

    Enlarging the range of services

    From a neurobiological standpoint, as mentioned earlier, the study of the central nervous system, particularly the cerebral nerves and layers of the cortex, revealed that the brain reacts to an external stimulus by relaying the information along preferred neuron paths that are characteristic of specific behaviors.

    Identifying these neuron paths, the operational circuits, is essential to understanding how humans act and react to any situation.

    Jean Timar and Reine Néguin began to formally identify, systematize and rationalize circuits after years of study. The next step was to find partners with whom to build the tools drawn from behavioral biology for practical application by the greatest number of people.

    The team grew with the addition of Pierre Guerry, a consultant who specialized in executive team in management and corporate strategy and task force management. He developed the first tools that would make it possible to identify talented.

    Then Pierre-Yves Revillard, engineer, brought his experience in the provision of organizational and electronic services as a consultant in organization and information system, particularly who specialized in managing data flow. His main mission was to oversee the transformation of scientific premises developed by Jean Timar and Néguin into algorithms.

     

    The First Talent Performance Indicators (TPIs)

    While these different types of expertise were coming together, Jean Timar was elaborating a method to help individuals improve their own performance. In 2003 he published “24 Senses To Help You Listen”, in which he points out that Man has 24 sensory possibilities in addition to the traditional 5 senses.

    He stressed the importance of knowing and experimenting with all 24 senses he identified. They increase our ability to quickly comprehend any given situation and act upon it simultaneously.

    Those who apply the approaches described in this document will perform their jobs more effectively regardless of their level. This book marked the beginning of service offers in management.

     

    MPF is born

    Behavioral biology now makes it possible to identify an individual’s operational circuits, provide the tools that will enable him or her understand a pattern of behavior and improve it. The very nature of the process limits its widespread use. But certain characteristics—the fact that it follows a procedure, is based on logic and can be repeated– make it suitable for an electronic adaptation.

    The association of Jean Timar, Reine Néguin, Pierre Guerry et Pierre-Yves Revillard into a new entity, MPF, would address a need to translate theory into actual practice and rationalize the breakthrough in understanding preferential modes of functioning. At the same time it was important to not create a behavioral typology that would lock individuals in their past actions. The challenge lay in finding a posology in the performance of future actions following the initial analytical stage.

    MPF began by trying to understand how people produce value added and how, regardless of their background, training and experience, they could produce even more value added tomorrow as a result of being given assignments better suited to their aspirations.

    Contact us to receive our full presentation leaflet.

  • The role of MPF is essentially to come up with a simple, precise, effective tool for talent management that could be used by the greatest possible number of people:

    • by companies in managing their human capital,
    • by service companies to make their service offers more relevant.


    Either way, mastering the functional applications of behavioral biology at the very least is absolutely necessary, especially the functional circuits and their main interactions.

    Jean Timar and Reine Néguin have assembled the basic data in two texts:

    • A Guide to Behavior Biology
    • The fundamental Mechanisms of Behavioral Biology 

    Reine Néguin’s Guide to Behavioral Biology is an instruction manual that can also be a reference text for people who are already well versed on the subject. It offers a clear, logical description of what is intentional and actionable in different types of behavior.

    In the Fundamental Mechanisms of Behavioral Biology, Jean Timar studies the operational circuits and how they relate to the cerebral layers in detail. He analyses the physiological functioning in both ordinary and extraordinary situations. Taken together, these two works provide a solid basis for understanding the MPF “tool”.

    Contact us to order the manuals of our know-how.

  • What is it?

    The growing success studies based on relations between people promoted the creation and the use of multiple theories and methods of analysis of the figures. Their input and their vogue have not been negative, not by the revival of attention to others that they suggest. However, the Behavioral Biology-based approaches differ strongly by essential points:

    • As its name indicates, it is behaviour that it primarily takes into account, i.e. the manifestations of the existing, the intentional and for the acting and the felt emotional.
    • The “mapping” of studied personality develops through observation and the aggregation of facts and non-speculative approach.
    • Identification of the type of personality leaves the subject perfectly free of its evolution, the analysis does not lead on the determinism.


    The approaches described in this manual refer to the basis of the Behavioral Biology developed by Henri LABORIT, developed and adapted to the current socio-occupational environments by Jean TIMAR and his team of researchers.

    For whom? … For what? …

    The light given by Behavioral Biology can move in three directions:

    • the Census of his personal resources;
    • the identification of the specific needs of stakeholders;
    • the detection of possible compatibilities between partenaires…

    Applications resulting can thus be used with fruit for yourself as to the other:

    • by controlling the consistency between decision-making and personal implications and optimal resources corresponding to its own specific characteristics;
    • by identifying the exact nature of matches or disparities that can occur in all types of relationships with others;
    • by revealing the compatibilities (similarities or complementarities) and also the risk of friction that may occur at certain meetings.


    Any person may, by its degree of involvement in the action, overcome the difficulties inherent in disparities of persons or functions by itself but it is realized always with a considerable energy expenditure, sometimes out of proportion to the objective pursued.

    The light given by the analysis of behaviour releases of this constraint.

    It allows:

    • an inventory more open and more specific to its own characteristics, in particular its points of excellence – for a more assured use – and its possible fault points, in order to preserve himself;
    • an adaptation more accurately adjusted to the differences in meetings with all types of relationships at all levels.


    A mapping on three plans

    Identification and optimization of the mechanisms of decision / action take into account and codify the data relating to the:

    • ASPIRATIONS – The priority direction of the desires of the person; as it would above all get or achieve even if she thought not to have the means.
    • EVENTS – What the person expresses; its actions and attitudes;
    • PROVISIONS – The potential of resources corresponding to the aspirations and can, if it is well operated, to achieve the goal.


    These elements not randomly join but gather and identify Circuits of operation including the origin and the trees are detailed as follows:

    • ASPIRATIONS and EVENTS are developed in the first part of “EXPLORATION”.
    • PROVISIONS and RESSOURCES appear in the second part: “USE”.

    The goal is not to change personalities but to identify and optimize the exist.

    Contact us to learn more on behavioral Biology



    DISCOVER OUR CLIENTS >>

  • Jean Timar and Reine Néguin, consultant of top management and Human Resources Management of major national and international groups. Together they total more than 60 years of applied research in human resources on the biology of behavior. They regularly enrich the data necessary for the understanding of the mechanisms of functioning of individuals.

    Pierre Guerry, Ph.d., Marketing Management, consultant in strategy management teams and in management of project teams. It sets concrete and operational applications tool MPF to meet the needs of talent management companies.

    Pierre-Yves Révillard, Supméca engineer, consultant in organization and computer engineer, specialized in the treatment of the flow of data and information. He directed the transformation of the scientific basis in algorithms to translate the data into business results.

    pyrevillard@mpfparis.com

Historique
Notre savoir-faire
La biologie des comportements
Les fondateurs
Nos Bureaux
  • Issue des travaux de recherche du Professeur Henri Laborit (1914-1995), chirurgien et neurobiologiste, la biologie des comportements, en révélant l’origine de ce qui fait réfléchir, décider, agir les individus, donne des informations précieuses permettant de définir les responsabilités à confier, les équipes à constituer, les organisations à restructurer et toutes possibilités d’améliorer la valeur ajoutée de chacun, individuellement ou en groupe.

    Henri Laborit a publié de nombreux ouvrages illustrant ses travaux scientifiques, dont en particulier :

    • La nouvelle Grille, 1974
    • Eloge de la fuite, 1976
    • L’inhibition de l’action, 1979
    • La légende des comportements, 1994


    Les travaux scientifiques d’Henri Laborit sont très pointus et leurs connaissances s’adressent à un public très averti en matière de Biologie des Comportements.

    Chercheur en Sciences Humaines, Jean Timar s’engage sur la voie tracée par Henri Laborit et y ajoute ses propres expériences qui le conduisent à établir une cartographie du cerveau relative aux comportements.

    Les arborescences multiples de cette cartographie aboutissent à plusieurs milliers de variantes pulsionnelles, qui influencent fortement nos décisions/actions.

    Regroupant les travaux d’autres chercheurs sur les paires de nerfs crâniens, comme André Leblanc, Jean Timar étudie le système nerveux central et les différentes couches corticales.

    C’est le début des applications à l’entreprise de cette nouvelle science.

     

    De la Biologie des Comportements au conseil en entreprise

    Rapidement Jean Timar perçoit l’intérêt de ces nouvelles connaissances pour conseiller les cadres dirigeants et crée avec Reine Néguin, également chercheur en Sciences Humaines, un cabinet de conseil spécialisé dans le management auprès de cadres dirigeants et de D.R.H pour des groupes nationaux et internationaux

    Depuis près de quarante années, ils interviennent auprès de grands groupes nationaux et internationaux (ARMOR, BIS, BOUYGUES, CAISSE D’EPARGNE, GEDIMAT, GENERAL MOTORS France, JACQUES VABRE, KRAFT GENERAL FOODS, MISTER MINIT, PARKER, SIEMENS, WATERMAN, …) pour du conseil en management auprès de leurs dirigeants avec une orientation plus particulière vers l’optimisation des talents et des potentiels existants mais pas toujours exploités dans leurs possibilités maximales par leurs possesseurs.

    Ces expérimentations communes et suivis en entreprises leur ont permis de tester, en milieux socioprofessionnels variés, la valeur et la justesse de cette grille de lecture et d’identification des talents, représentant une des préoccupations majeures des entreprises de pointe toujours soucieuses de répondre quasi instantanément aux nouveaux besoins émergeants des marchés mondiaux.

    La complexité de l’évolution des techniques ne permet plus la formation préalable de spécialistes capables d’y répondre et impose donc la détection de personnes à haut niveau de capacité d’adaptation rapide aux situations en mouvements permanents.

    Jean Timar et Reine Néguin sont eux aussi en constante observation de ces marchés actualisés. Ils repensent continuellement leurs approches dans le domaine de la biologie comportementale.

    Leurs connaissances sur la biologie des comportements se développent, s’enrichissent de travaux d’autres chercheurs, ce qui les conduit à écrire plusieurs ouvrages:

    D’abord sous forme d’essais avec :

    • L’homme et son environnement, 1972
    • L’autre comportement, 1982


    Puis une méthodologie de la prise de parole en public :

    • Levez vous et parlez, 1985


    Pour aboutir aux premières démarches d’explications plus « techniques » de la Biologie des Comportements :

    • Le temps des réalités, banque de données sur la biologie des comportements , 1988

    Avec la parution de cet ouvrage s’annonce une nouvelle orientation répondant à l’attente de sociétés souhaitant bénéficier des apports de la Biologie des Comportements par d’autres voies que celles du conseil ; d’où la mise au point d’un mode « prestation de service » qui laisse une large autonomie aux entreprises et leur permet d’utiliser ces approches pour assurer la gestion des ressources humaines au plus près de leurs besoins.

    Dans les nombreuses conférences animées par Jean Timar et Reine Néguin, cette transition va également trouver un écho auprès des Chambres de Commerce et d’Industrie, auprès des groupements de dirigeants, dont la demande est forte de pouvoir utiliser des outils de développement des talents, simples, précis et performants.

     

    Elargissement à la prestation de services

    Comme indiqué plus haut, sur le plan neurobiologique, l’étude du Système Nerveux Central, (plus particulièrement des nerfs crâniens et des couches corticales), a mis en évidence qu’un stimulus extérieur, pouvait être traité par le cerveau selon des chemins neuronaux préférentiels qui étaient caractéristiques de comportements particuliers.

    L’identification de ces chemins neuronaux, les « circuits de fonctionnement », est essentielle pour comprendre comment l’Homme peut agir et réagir face à une situation à laquelle il est confronté.

    Cette identification, après des années d’expérience, Jean Timar et Reine Néguin, ont commencé à la formaliser, à la systématiser et à la rationaliser.

    L’étape suivante a donc consisté à trouver des partenaires pour « fabriquer » des outils basés sur la Biologie des Comportements utilisables par le plus grand nombre.

    L’équipe s’est ainsi renforcée avec Pierre Guerry, consultant en stratégie des équipes de direction et conseil en management des équipes de projets. Il a défini les premiers outils susceptibles de répondre aux besoins d’identification rapide des talents.

    Puis Pierre-Yves Révillard, ingénieur Supméca, a apporté son expérience de prestataire de services en organisation et informatique, spécialisé dans le traitement des flux de données et d’information. Sa principale mission était de réaliser la transformation des bases scientifiques développées par Jean Timar et Reine Néguin sous forme d’algorithmes.

     

    Les premiers Talent Performance Indicators (TPIs)

    Simultanément à cette fusion de savoirs, Jean Timar élabore une méthode pour améliorer soi-même ses performances individuelles et publie un ouvrage : « 24 sens au service de l’écoute », 2003, dans lequel il met en évidence et explore les vingt-quatre possibilités sensorielles de l’Homme qui enrichissent les ressources des cinq sens traditionnellement connus.

    Il y développe l’intérêt d’informer et de faire prendre conscience de la nécessité de connaître et d’exploiter au maximum les vingt-quatre sens qu’il a recensés, afin de renforcer nos capacités de compréhension rapide et d’actions simultanées dans une situation donnée.

    Une application pratique des approches développées dans ce document permet une plus grande efficacité dans l’assumance des responsabilités que chacun peut avoir à différents niveaux d’organisation.

    Cet ouvrage marque le passage à la notion de prestation de services en management.

     

    La création de MPF

    Même si des années d’expérience et de pratique de la biologie du comportement permettent d’identifier les principaux « circuits de fonctionnements » d’une personne et de lui fournir lors d’entretiens individuels les outils de compréhension et de perfectionnement de son comportement, cette démarche, elle-même, limite sa propre diffusion.

    En revanche, elle revêt un caractère procédural, logique, répétable, donc adapté à un traitement informatique.

    C’est ce qui a provoqué la création de MPF, associant Jean Timar, Reine Néguin, Pierre Guerry et Pierre-Yves Révillard, pour mettre en œuvre cette idée qu’il existait une possibilité de « rationaliser » cette identification du mode de fonctionnement préférentiel, sans pour autant tomber dans une typologie du comportement enfermant l’individu dans ses actes passés, et permettant au contraire une « posologie » dans la conduite des actions futures, après une première étape d’analyse.

    MPF s’attache dans un premier temps à identifier comment les Hommes produisent de la valeur ajoutée et quels que soient leurs parcours, leurs formations, leurs expériences, comment ils pourront produire demain encore davantage de valeur ajoutée en accomplissant des missions au plus près de leurs aspirations.

    Contactez nous afin de recevoir notre fascicule de présentation complet.

  • L’objectif de MPF est essentiellement de mettre à disposition du plus grand nombre un outil de Management des Talents simple, précis, efficace et utilisable :

    • Par les entreprises pour le management de leur capital humain,
    • Par des entreprises de service afin d’augmenter davantage la pertinence de leur prestations.

    Dans les deux cas, cela suppose de maîtriser a minima les applications opérationnelles de la Biologie des Comportements, et principalement, les Circuits de Fonctionnement et leurs principales interactions.

    Dans cet objectif, les données de base ont été rassemblées par Jean Timar et Reine Néguin en deux parties :

    • Mémento pour l’approche de la Biologie des Comportements,
    • Les mécanismes fondamentaux de la Biologie des Comportements. 

    Dans le mémento, Reine Néguin présente les approches de la Biologie des Comportements comme un manuel d’initiation qui peut également être utilisé avec profit comme aide-mémoire par les personnes déjà informées. On y trouve développées, de manière claire et logique, les arborescences intentionnelles et actionnelles à l’origine des différences de comportement.

    Dans les mécanismes fondamentaux de la Biologie des Comportements, Jean Timar approfondit les circuits de fonctionnement, leur relation avec les couches corticales, et analyse le fonctionnement physiologique interne dans les situations courantes et « hors normes ».

    L’ensemble de ces deux ouvrages donne une base solide pour l’exploitation judicieuse de l’outil MPF.

    Contactez nous si vous souhaitez commander les ouvrages de base du savoir-faire MPF.

     

     

  • De quoi s’agit-il ? 

    Le succès grandissant des études basées sur les relations entre les personnes a favorisé la création et le recours à de multiples théories et méthodes d’analyse des personnalités. Leur apport et leur vogue n’ont pas été négatifs, ne serait-ce que par le réveil d’attention pour autrui qu’ils suggèrent. Toutefois, les approches basées sur la Biologie des Comportements s’en distinguent fortement par des points essentiels :

    • Comme son nom l’indique, ce sont les COMPORTEMENTS qu’elle prend prioritairement en compte, c’est-à-dire les manifestations de l’existant, de l’intentionnel et de l’agissant et non les ressentis affectifs.
    • La « cartographie » de la personnalité étudiée s’élabore par l’observation et le recoupement de faits et non par approche spéculative.
    • L’identification du type de personnalité laisse le sujet parfaitement libre de son évolution, l’analyse ne débouchant pas sur du déterminisme.


    Les approches décrites dans ce manuel se réfèrent aux bases de la Biologie des Comportements élaborées par Henri LABORIT, développées et adaptées aux environnements socioprofessionnels actuels par Jean TIMAR et son équipe de chercheurs.

     

    Pour qui ? … Pour quoi ?  …

    L’éclairage donné par la Biologie des Comportements peut s’orienter dans trois directions :

    • le recensement de ses ressources personnelles;
    • l’identification des spécificités des interlocuteurs;
    • la détection des compatibilités possibles entre partenaires…


    Les applications qui en découlent peuvent ainsi être utilisées avec fruit pour soi-même comme vis-à-vis des autres :

    • en contrôlant la cohérence entre les prises de décision et implications personnelles et les ressources optimales correspondant à ses propres spécificités ;
    • en identifiant la nature exacte des concordances ou disparités pouvant se manifester dans tous types de relations avec autrui ;
    • en révélant les compatibilités (similitudes ou complémentarités) et aussi les risques de frictions pouvant se produire lors de certaines rencontres.


    Toute personne peut, en fonction de son degré d’implication dans l’action, surmonter par elle-même les difficultés inhérentes aux disparités des personnes ou des fonctions mais cela se réalise toujours avec une dépense énergétique considérable, parfois hors de proportion avec l’objectif poursuivi.

    L’éclairage donné par l’analyse des comportements libère de cette contrainte.

    Il permet :

    • un inventaire plus ouvert et plus précis de ses propres spécificités, en particulier ses points d’excellence – pour une exploitation plus assurée – et ses points de faille possible pour s’en préserver ;
    • une adaptation plus exactement ajustée aux différences constatées lors des rencontres avec tous types de relations à tous niveaux.


    Une cartographie sur trois plans

    L’identification et l’optimisation des mécanismes de décision / action prennent en compte et codifient les données relatives aux :

    • ASPIRATIONS - L’orientation prioritaire des désirs de la personne ; ce qu’elle voudrait par-dessus tout obtenir ou réaliser même si elle pense ne pas en avoir les moyens.
    • MANIFESTATIONS – Ce que la personne exprime ; ses agissements et attitudes ;
    • DISPOSITIONS – Le potentiel de ressources correspondant aux aspirations et pouvant, s’il est bien exploité, permettre d’atteindre le but visé.


    Ces éléments ne s’associent pas de façon aléatoire mais se regroupent et s’identifient en Circuits de Fonctionnement dont l’origine et les arborescences sont détaillées comme suit :

    • ASPIRATIONS et MANIFESTATIONS sont développées dans la première partie « EXPLORATION ».
    • DISPOSITIONS et RESSOURCES figurent dans la seconde partie : « EXPLOITATION ».


    L’objectif n’est pas de changer les personnalités mais de recenser et d’optimiser l’existant.

    Contactez nous pour en savoir plus sur la biologie des comportements


    DECOUVREZ NOS CLIENTS >>

  • Jean Timar et Reine Néguin, conseils de directions générales et de D.R.H. de grands groupes nationaux et internationaux. Ils totalisent ensemble plus de 60 ans de recherche appliquée en Ressources Humaines sur la Biologie des Comportements. Ils enrichissent régulièrement les données nécessaires à la meilleure compréhension des mécanismes de fonctionnement des individus.

    Pierre Guerry, doctorat de Marketing Management, consultant en stratégie des équipes de direction et conseil en management des équipes de projets. Il définit les applications concrètes et opérationnelles de l’outil MPF permettant de répondre aux besoins des entreprises de gestion des talents.

    Pierre-Yves Révillard, ingénieur Supméca, consultant en organisation et informatique, spécialisé dans le traitement des flux de données et d’informations. Il réalise la transformation des bases scientifiques sous forme d’algorithmes de façon à traduire les données en résultats opérationnels.